As with a bunch of other small, rural settlements along the St. Louis Southwestern Railway,
the Cotton Belt Route, Colleyville was
one minor stop. It was originally known as Bransford when a prominent physician
and Union Army veteran, Dr. Lilburn Howard Colley, settled there in 1880. He
practiced in the area for about 40 years. It wasn’t until 1914, when Walter G.
Couch opened a grocery store near Dr. Colley's home, that the community
gradually came to be known as Coleysville and, later, Colleyville. Colleyville
was incorporated on in 1956, and by 1958 the population had increased to 100
and to 22,807 by 2016.
|McPherson Park, Colleyville|